Close this search box.

ASFA Board changes and appointment of new Chairperson

Media Release 6 November 2013

6 November 2013

ASFA Board changes and appointment of new Chairperson

The Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia Limited (ASFA) is pleased to announce the ASFA Board has elected TAL Limited Managing Director Mr Jim Minto to the position of ASFA Board Chair. Mr Minto has been an ASFA Director since November 2009 and Chair of the Board Policy Committee since 2012.

“Mr Minto will bring a wealth of wisdom and experience to his new role as Chair. We congratulate and wish him every success in his new role,” said ASFA CEO Ms Pauline Vamos.

Jim’s appointment follows Mr Tony Lally’s resignation from the ASFA Board in October 2013 after four years as Chair.

“Mr Lally made an invaluable contribution to the ASFA Board, as well as the broader superannuation community, during his tenure. We thank him for his commitment to the ASFA Board and we wish him all the best in his future endeavours,” Ms Vamos said.

ASFA is also pleased to welcome to the ASFA Board two new members:

  • Damian Hill, CEO of REST Superannuation, who was nominated by the Board on 25 October 2013 to fill the vacancy left by Mr Lally
  • Brian Delaney, Chief of Global Clients and Marketing at QIC, who was elected by the service provider member sector and whose appointment will take effect following the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 14 November 2013.

ASFA also wishes to note its appreciation of Peter McNeil for his service as a director. Mr McNeil joined the Board in February 2013 and, following the recent elections, is retiring as a director after the forthcoming AGM.

“On behalf of ASFA and its members, I’d like to congratulate Damian Hill and Brian Delaney on their appointments, as well as Jim Minto, Michael Dwyer, Brad Holzberger, Nicolette Rubinsztein and Dean Thomas on their re-election by their peers this year,” said Ms Vamos.

Following the upcoming AGM at the ASFA Conference, the new Board will comprise the following industry leaders:


• Jim Minto, Managing Director, TAL Limited

Industry funds

• David Elia, Fellow of ASFA (FASFA), Chief Executive Officer, HOSTPLUS

• Damian Hill FASFA, Chief Executive Officer, REST Superannuation

Public sector funds

• Michael Dwyer AM FASFA, Chief Executive Officer, First State Super

• Brad Holzberger, Chief Investment Officer, QSuper

Service providers

• Jim Minto, Managing Director, TAL Limited

• Brian Delaney, Chief of Global Clients and Marketing, QIC

Retail funds

• Nicolette Rubinsztein, General Manager – Retirement and Advocacy, Colonial First State

• Dean Thomas, General Manager, Retail Investment Platforms, MLC

Corporate funds

• Roslyn Ramwell FASFA, Chief Executive Officer, Harwood Superannuation Fund

• Jane Perry, Chief Executive Officer, Qantas Superannuation

For further details, including full biographies, click here.

For further information, please contact:

Lisa Chikarovski, Media Manager, 0451 949 300.

About ASFA

ASFA is the peak policy, research and advocacy body for Australia’s superannuation industry. It is a not-for-profit, sector-neutral, and non-party political national organisation whose aim is to advance effective retirement outcomes for members of funds through research, advocacy and the development of policy and industry best practice.

Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Logged in as

Most recent