Close this search box.

ASFA Annual General Meeting: Board announced

Media Release 30 November 2017

30 November 2017

ASFA Annual General Meeting: Board announced

The Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia (ASFA) is pleased to welcome two new members who have been elected to the ASFA Board: Melinda Howes, General Manager of Superannuation, BT Financial Group as a retail fund representative and Peter Carrigy-Ryan, Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth Superannuation Corporation as a public sector fund representative.

ASFA Chair Dr Michael Easson said Peter and Melinda would bring a wealth of industry experience to the board and ably assist ASFA in its mission to lift Australian retirement outcomes.

“Peter has more than 30 years’ experience in financial services and superannuation,” he said.

“Melinda is an actuary whose career has spanned policy, strategy, consulting, product and sales work in superannuation, wealth management, insurance and not-for-profit entities.”

Dr Easson acknowledged the significant contributions of Brad Holzberger and Dean Thomas, who stood down at the end of their terms, and wished them both well for the future.

Four directors have been re-elected to the ASFA Board – public sector representative, Michael Dwyer, retail representative Linda Elkins and service provider representatives, Andrew Boal and Suzanne Holden.

The ASFA Board has also confirmed Dr Michael Easson AM as its Independent chair.

Following the Annual General Meeting at the ASFA Conference, the ASFA Board is made up of the following directors:

Independent Chair

  • Dr Michael Easson AM, Chairman, Founding Director of EG Funds Management

Industry funds

  • David Elia (Fellow of ASFA), Chief Executive Officer, HOSTPLUS
  • Damian Hill (Fellow of ASFA), Chief Executive Officer, REST Superannuation

Public sector funds

  • Peter Carrigy-Ryan, Chief Executive Officer, Commonwealth Superannuation Corporation
  • Michael Dwyer AM (Fellow of ASFA), Chief Executive Officer, First State Super

Service providers

  • Andrew Boal, Head of Australasia, Willis Towers Watson
  • Suzanne Holden, Chief Executive Officer, Link Group Fund Administration

Retail funds

  • Linda Elkins, Executive General Manager, Colonial First State
  • Melinda Howes, General Manager of Superannuation, BT Financial Group

Corporate funds

  • Michael Clancy, Chief Executive Officer, Qantas Superannuation
  • Chris Davies, Chief Executive Officer, TelstraSuper

For further details, including full biographies, click here.

For further information, please contact:

Teresa Mullan, Media Manager, 0451 949 300.

About ASFA

ASFA is the peak policy, research and advocacy body for Australia’s superannuation industry. It is a not-for-profit, sector-neutral and non-party political, national organisation. ASFA’s mission is to continuously improve the superannuation system so people can live in retirement with increasing prosperity. We focus on the issues that affect the entire superannuation system and represent more than 90 per cent of the 14.8 million Australians with superannuation.

Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Logged in as